RSSI Scholarship Winners


RSSI is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 RSSI scholarship awards. The W. Ed Rowland Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Lindsey Laurune. Lindsey’s father, William Laurune, is an employee of Ansaldo STS.


The recipient of the James R. Higginbottom scholarship is Matthew Heron. Matthews’s father, Robert Heron, is employed by Harsco Rail.


The scholarships are worth $8,000 payable in eight $1,000 payments before each semester. The recipients must be enrolled in an accredited North American institution of higher learning and maintain a 3.0 GPA based on a 4.0 scale.

The 2016 RSSI W. Ed Rowland Memorial Scholarship

Lindsey Laurune


Lindsey is a 2016 graduate of Seneca Valley High School in Harmony, PA which she ranked 5th in her class of 572 students with an overall GPA of 5.33. She is a member of the Science Honor Society as well as a valued member of the Seneca Cross Country Team.


Lindsey will be attending University of Pittsburgh in the fall of 2016 where her major will be Engineering.

The RSSI 2016 James R. Higginbottom Scholarship

Matthew Heron


Matthew is a 2016 graduate of Dutch Fork High School in Irmo, S.C. which he ranked 4th in his class of 393 with an overall GPA of 5.166.  He is an Eagle Scout, Senior Vice President of Student Council, National Honor Society as well as an AP Scholar with Distinction.


Matthew will be attending Georgetown University the fall of 2016 where his major will be Human Science.

In addition to the two new scholarships, the following are also active:

  • Holly K. Avins - Okonite/Purdue University
  • Samuel Altland - Hatch Mott MacDonald/University of Pennsylvania
  • Brantley ALlen Butcher - Yale University
  • Heather R. Hourdequin - Okonite/University of California Los Angeles
  • Brent Henderson - GE Transportation/Truman State University
  • Joanne Jang - ARINC/Stanford University
  • Ashton Mensinger - G&B Specialties/Penn State
  • Elisabeth Wydotis - Siemens/USC Columbia
  • Zoe Tong Yu - Dartmouth College



Railway Systems Suppliers, Inc. is a trade association serving the communication and signal segment of the rail transportation industry.